NPO Laws Related to Fundraising

Non-profit organizations are required to register with the state attorney general office and comply with the solicitation act for each state, where it raises funds.

Registration is a MUST if fund raised by the organization (gross contribution) exceeds:

Alabama
$25000
Alaska
$5000
Arizona
$25000
Arkansas
$10000
California
$25000
Colorado
$0.00
Connecticut
$25000
Delaware
not required
District of Columbia
$1500
Florida
$0.00
Georgia
$25000
Hawaii
not required
Idaho
not required
Illinois
$15000
Indiana
not required
Iowa
not required
Kansas
$10000
Kentucky
$0.00
Louisiana
$0.00
Maine
$10000
Maryland
$25000
Massachusetts
$5000
Michigan
$8000
Minnesota
$25000
Mississippi
$4000
Missouri
not required
Montana
not required
Nebraska
$0.00
Nevada
not required
New Hampshire
$0.00
New Jersey
$0.00
New Mexico
$2500
New York
$25000
North Carolina
$0.00
North Dakota
$0.00
Ohio
$25000
Oklahoma
$10000
Oregon
$0.00
Pennsylvania
$25000
Rhode Island
$3000
South Carolina
$5000
South Dakota
not required
Tennessee
$30000
Texas
not required
Utah
$0.00
Vermont
not required
Virginia
$5000
Washington
$25000
Washington D.C
$1500
West Virginia
$0.00
Wisconsin
$0.00
Wyoming
not required

Registration is also MUST, if the organization uses the services of professional fund raisers irrespective of the funds raised.

Religious organizations and select few educational institutes are exempt from registration with the A.G office for solicitation of funds.


People who read this also read: