starting a NPO: founder’s requirements

state laws (U.S) require minimum three category of people to form a nonprofit organization.

  • Founders
  • Directors
  • Officers

Often, the same person can play all three roles.

Founder’s requirement/ Minimum number of Founders

State Minimum number of incorporators
Alabama Persons (one or more),  partnerships, domestic corporations or foreign corporations, whether for profit or not for profit
Alaska One or more person
Arizona One or more person
Arkansas One or more person
California One or more person
Colorado One or more person
18 years or older.
Connecticut One or more person
Delaware One or more person
District of Columbia 3 or more persons
Florida One or more person
Georgia One or more person
Hawaii One or more person
Idaho One or more person
Illinois Either be a natural person above the age of 18 or a domestic or foreign business entity
Indiana One or more person
Iowa One or more person
Kansas One or more person
Kentucky One or more person
Louisiana One or more natural person or a business entity
Maine One or more person
Maryland One or more person 18 years or older
Massachusetts One or more person
Michigan One or more person
Minnesota One or more adult and a natural person
Mississippi One or more person
Missouri Minimum 1 natural person 18 + age. Business entities not allowed to start a non-profit organization in Missouri
Montana One or more person
Nebraska One or more person
Nevada One or more natural person
New Hampshire Minimum 5 or more people are required to act as incorporators
New Jersey One or more person
New Mexico One or more person
New York One or more natural persons of at least 18 years of age
North Carolina One or more person
North Dakota One or more incorporators must be at least 18 years of age.
Ohio One or more person
Oklahoma 3 or more individuals or partnership, association, or corporation
Oregon One or more incorporators at least 18 years age or an organization(corporation, partnership, association)
Pennsylvania One or more individual at
least 18 years of age or a business entity
Rhode Island One or more person
South Carolina One or more person
South Dakota Minimum of three (3) or more natural persons who have attained the age of majority
Tennessee One or more person
Texas One or more ‘organizer’ who may either be a person (18 years +) or a corporation or any other legal entity.
Utah One or more individual (aged 18 years or older)
who may or may not be a domicile of Utah
Vermont One or more individual who has attained the
age of majority. Organizations cannot be incorporators
Virginia 1 or more person
Washington One or more adult person(s) (18 years+)
West Virginia 1 or more natural person
Wisconsin 1 or more natural person
Wyoming 1 or more person

Also see: