State tax framework for non-profits

Different states have different taxation systems and as such provide different kinds of exemption to non-profit organizations. In addition to the sales tax, many states offer exemption on corporate income taxes, excise taxes, franchisee taxes, property taxes and others.

Detailed and updated information about state tax exemption can be obtained from the website of the respective state department of revenue.(see quick links below)

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado
Connecticut Delaware District of Columbia Florida Georgia Hawaii
Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky
Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota
Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire
New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio
Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota
Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington
West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

People who read this also read: